The Waterloo Black Hawks overcame a two-goal deficit for a 4-2 victory at Young Arena in the first contest against the Indiana Ice during the best-of-five Clark Cup Finals Friday.

With traffic at the front of the net, the Ice scored the first goal of the series at 2:31 of the opening period.  A shot by Dwyer Tschantz was batted around the goal mouth and eventually knocked between the posts by Scott Conway, Indiana’s leading scorer during the regular season.

The Ice extended their lead in the second when Joshua Jacobs scored from the right point at 5:09 following a faceoff win.  However, the Hawks capitalized 1:22 later; Hayden Shaw went to the net on an odd-man rush and knocked in a centering feed by Drew Melanson.  Waterloo evened the matchup
just after a power play ended at 10:19.  Tyler Sheehy’s shot eluded Jason Pawloski and bounced over the goal line.

A faceoff win set up the go-ahead – and ultimately game-winning – goal 13:49 into the third period.  Sheehy pulled the draw to the left wing boards, allowing Derek Pratt a shot at the net.  Blake  Winiecki pounced on the rebound and slipped a backhander past Pawloski.  With 11.8 remaining
in regulation, Jake Horton sealed the win with an empty net goal, after swiping the puck in the Indiana zone.

Cal Petersen made 32 stops for the victory, including 13 during the third period.  Pawloski was one save shy of Petersen’s total, with 31.

The Clark Cup Championship Series continues Saturday at Young Arena.  Game Two begins at 7:05.  Tickets for the matchup are still available by calling the Domino’s Black Hawks Box Office at (319) 291-7680 or by visiting