Finishing second-best isn't too bad. Clear Lake defeated Waterloo Columbus Catholic, 11-1, in five innings to win the Class-2A state championship at the Iowa High School state baseball tournament in Des Moines Saturday afternoon (Aug. 1, 2015).

Columbus thwarted Clear Lake's first threat in the bottom of the first inning, but the Lions took advantage of their opportunities after that. For all tournament results, CLICK HERE.

Clear Lake loaded the bases in the first frame, but Columbus starter Luke Farley managed two strikeouts to get the Sailors out of the jam.


Farley found himself in nearly the same situation in the second inning —- bases loaded with no outs. The Lions capitalized on their repeat chance.

Farley walked in one run, Clear Lake third baseman Ben Mason hit a sacrifice fly to drive in a run and Mitch Keeran clubbed a three-run RBI stand-up double to put the Lions up, 5-0 after two innings.

Clear Lake tagged on six more runs in the bottom of the third inning with the help of two Columbus errors.

Lions' starter Brock Adams had a no-hitter going until Columbus' Greg Glass broke it up with a base hit up the middle in the top of the fourth. The Sailors scored their only run of the game when Lucas Benda reached on an error by Keeran. The miscue allowed Glass to score.

Adams earned the win for the Lions, allowing one run on two hits and a walk with six strikeouts over 5.0 innings. Farley suffered the loss for Columbus, allowing five runs (one earned) on three hits and four walks with four strikeouts over 2.0 innings.

Parker Truesdell led Clear Lake offensively with two hits and two runs scored. The Lions finished with six hits. Glass and Lee Hansen led Columbus offensively both with one hit apiece.

Clear Lake, which won the Class-3A state title in 2013, ended its season at 30-11. The Sailors, playing in the first championship game, finished 32-6.