The IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series race at Davenport Speedway has been cancelled. West Liberty now serves as the 2016 Deery Series opener.

Wet and unfavorable conditions have forced the cancellation of Friday’s season opener for the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models at Davenport Speedway.

There is no make-up date for the April 8 event.

The 30th annual Late Model tour is now scheduled to open its season with a $2,000 to win show this Saturday, April 9, at West Liberty Raceway.


West Liberty opens the gates at 4:30 PM and the grandstand at 5:30 PM on Saturday. Hot laps are at 6:30 PM with racing to follow. The main event is 40 laps.
Spectator admission is $16 for adults, $14 for seniors, $10 for students ages 13-17 and free for 12 and under. Also running are Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds for all applicable points.

Additional information is available by calling 563 744-3620 and at the track’s website.

Pit passes Saturday nights are $30.

Brian Harris of Davenport and Kay were series winners in 2015 at West Liberty; Kay has won five Deery features there since 2013.

Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown has competed at all 451 events through the series’ first 29 seasons, winning 13 times.

New to the Deery Series format this season is the $300 to win Malvern Trust and Savings Bank Dash for Cash at all events with 32 or more entries. Point funds totaling $9,325 will be paid to top 10 drivers in standings midway through and at the conclusion of the tour.

2015 Deery Brothers Summer Series top 25 Point Standings:
1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 811; 2. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 755; 3. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 743; 4. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland, 707; 5. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 667; 6. Tyler Droste, Waterloo, 663; 7. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 636; 8. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis, Ill., 578; 9. John Emerson, Waterloo, 534; 10. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 506; 11. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 500; 12. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake, 463; 13. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 445; 14. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 438; 15. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 428; 16. Jeremy Grady, Story City, 423; 17. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 369; 18. Jason Rauen, Farley, 357; 19. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher, 303; 20. Brian Harris, Davenport, 286; 21. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 265; 22. Jason Hahne, Webster City, 254; 23. Curt Martin, Independence, 251; 24. Jonathan Poll, Delmar, and Brunson Behning, Davenport, both 250.

Contributed By: Bill Martin (IMCA Media Relations)