Iowa's Kirk Ferentz has been named Coach of the Year in the Big Ten Conference (B1G), the league announced on Tuesday (Dec. 1, 2015).

Ferentz won both of the conference's annual awards. The Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year honor is voted on by B1G head football coaches and is named in honor of former Ohio State coach Woody Hayes and former Michigan coach Bo Schembechler. The Dave McClain Award is named in honor of Wisconsin’s former head coach and is voted on by media representatives.

“I’m honored to be recognized in a conference that has outstanding coaches throughout the league,” Ferentz said. “The success of our season is the result of a lot of hard work by our entire coaching staff and every member of our football program.”

Ferentz has led Iowa to a school-record 12 victories this season, after going 7-6 in 2014. It's the fifth time the Hawkeyes have recorded 10 or more wins under his leadership.

“The Big Ten Conference has forever featured outstanding football coaches; I have great respect for the head coaches in the Big Ten and appreciate their acknowledgement of our accomplishments,” Ferentz said. “I share this recognition with our staff, our players, and our great fans. I am grateful to the University of Iowa for providing the necessary support for our success.”

In his 17th season at Iowa, Ferentz is tied for seventh in Big Ten victories (76) and ranks eighth in total wins (127).

Ferentz previously earned Big Ten Coach of the Year accolades in 2002, 2004 and 2009, and becomes only the second mentor in league history to be honored in four or more seasons. Michigan’s Bo Schembechler was honored in six different seasons.

The unbeaten Iowa Hawkeyes (12-0 overall, 8-0 B1G) remained fourth in the latest College Football Playoff (CFP) rankings, released Tuesday night. They play No. 5 Michigan State (11-1, 7-1) for the Big Ten title this weekend in what effectively is an elimination game for the playoffs. Saturday's game will air nationally on FOX, with kick-off scheduled at 7:17 p.m. (CT) from Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

The winner earns the Amos Alonzo Stagg Championship Trophy and a chance to play in one of the six bowls that comprise the CFP, including the Rose Bowl Game.

This is Iowa's first trip to the Big Ten Championship, while the Spartans are playing in the title game for the third time in five years.