Municipal elections are today (Tuesday) in Northeast Iowa.

Voters will be going to the polls, choosing mayors and council members. There are just a few races in Northeast Iowa, and in some communities, there are no candidates for certain posts. Residents may have to write-in their choice.

In Oelwein, Mayor Peggy Sherrets is running for re-election; she is unopposed. There is one council race: incumbent Paul Ryan is challenged by Darin Christensen for the at-large seat. Otherwise, Matt Weber in Ward 1 and Lou Ann Milks in Ward 2 are unopposed.

For races, in Clermont, three candidates are running for 2 council seats: Dina Taylor, Randy Wiedenhoff and Troy Schott.

In Fayette, mayor Andrew Wenthe faces a challenge from Daniel Boberg. There are also 6 candidates for 5 council seats.

In Hawkeye, there are 2 open council seats, but only 1 candidate: incumbent Angela Weidemann.

Randalia has 3 posts open, but only 2 council candidates.

St. Lucas voters need to choose 5 councilman from a field of 6 candidates: the five incumbents and a challenger.

In Waucoma, four incumbents are running, but there are 5 seats to fill.

In Westgate, mayor Don Bushaw is being challenged by LuGene Rubendall. Also, there are four candidates for three council vacancies.

There is one public measure in Fayette county, for Elgin voters: it asks if the city should levy a property tax of 27 cents per $1,000 of assessed value, to pay for the increasing annual operating budget of the Elgin Public Library.

Most polling places opened at 7am; for some of the smaller communities, the polls will open at noon. All polls will close at 8pm.