University of Iowa senior Tony Ramos won the 133-pound Big Ten title during championship round action of the conference tournament Sunday at the Kohl Center. The Hawkeyes finished second in the team standings with 135 points, trailing only Penn State’s 140.5 points.

Nine Iowa wrestlers finished in the top-five of their respective brackets, the most of any school. All nine placewinners earned an automatic berth to the 2014 NCAA Championships.

The top-seeded Ramos earned his first career Big Ten Championship by downing second-seeded Tyler Graff of Wisconsin, 2-1. Ramos, who finished second at the 2012 and 2013 Big Ten Championships, used a second period escape and 1:37 of riding time to defeat Graff.

Iowa returns to the mat March 20-22 at the NCAA Championships in Oklahoma City. The NCAA will announce the tournament field Wednesday, March 12.


Penn State – 140.5
Iowa - 135
Minnesota – 118.5
Ohio State – 86.5
Nebraska - 79
Illinois – 78.5
Wisconsin - 73
Michigan – 71.5
Northwestern - 58
Indiana - 37
Purdue – 34.5

courtesy of University of Iowa athletics

Michigan State – 21.5