Morning games are unusual in college basketball, but the UNI men and women each played one on the road today (Tuesday, November 18, 2014).

The UNI men squeaked out a 79-77 overtime win at Stephen F. Austin, while the UNI women dropped an 82-73 decision at Akron. It was the second game of the season for both UNI teams.

The men's game was played at William R. Johnson Coliseum in Nocogdoches, Texas, where the Panthers snapped Stephen F. Austin's 34-game home winning streak. They rallied from an eight-point deficit in the second half. Deon Mitchell's three-point play with 50.8 seconds left knotted the score at 70-70 and forced overtime.

In the extra period, Paul Jesperson's putback with 39.7 seconds left gave UNI the lead and Wes Washpun added a free throw 19 seconds later for the two-point margin. Washpun's second attempt from the line missed, and Stephen F. Austin raced down the floor to set up a final shot. Demetrious Floyd's floater in the lane hit the back of the rim and bounced out, sealing the victory for the Panthers.

Five players scored in double figures for UNI (2-0), led by 15 from Marvin Singleton. Floyd and Thomas Walkup each scored a game-high 20 points for the Lumberjacks.

Before the game, Stephen F. Austin (1-1) owned the NCAA's second-longest active home court winning streak.

The game tipped off at 8 a.m. as part of ESPN's 24-Hours of College Hoops Tip-off Marathon.

In Akron, Ohio, Jen Keitel recorded her second double-double of the season for the UNI women. She scored 19 points and grabbed 11 rebounds to lead the Panthers (1-1). All five UNI starters tallied double figures.

The Panthers built a 26-14 lead midway through the first half, but entered halftime tied at 33-33. Akron closed the half with an 8-0 run, then took control of the game with four three-pointers early in the second half. The Zips built their largest lead at 59-48 with 12:37 left in the game.

The women's game tipped off at 9:30 a.m. (Iowa time) as part Akron's second annual Education Day. The Zips invited over 800 area fifth-graders to attend.